Go, America, Go!

1776 – Adam Smith published Wealth of Nations in London.  Thomas Paine published Common Sense in Philadelphia.  Armedeo Avogadro of Italy was born (Avogrado’s number from high school chemistry, anyone?).  But most importantly, the thirteen colonies broke away from the British Empire and formed the United States of America after unanimously adopting the Declaration of Independence on July 4th.

To commemorate the birth of such a great nation, Americans light fireworks, wave flags, and sport the red white and blue (this year I’ll be sporting my red, white, and blue polka dot speedo – be on the look out).  Patriotic songs are sung and fine American brews are consumed.

This year, however, the fourth of July falls at the peak of my training for Ironman Lake Placid.  My type-A training mindset and competitive nature says I should hold off this year and stay focused on my goal.  With several big workouts on the 5th and 6th and a 2-week taper immediately afterwards, the fourth should be celebrated with just an American flag birthday hat and a 9:00 bedtime.  I gave it some thought and came to my senses.  The Captain in me took over and I decided to go all out this year with lots of high calorie food, copious amounts of booze, and a return to my college roots with my SigEp buddies in Annapolis.  So to make up for it, I present to you the Inaugural 1776 Triathlon – a tribute to the United States, triathlon style.  A 1,776 meter swim TT, followed by a 17.76 mile threshold bike ride, followed by a 17.76 km run.  Go America, Go!

Result:

Swim: 25:03

Bike: 43:57

Run: 1:24:18

So with a “quick and easy” training session in the books I’m off, with my speedo on and Yuengling in hand, to celebrate America.  Happy Birthday.

Leave a Reply

