That Perfect Run

The weather was perfect. About 65 degrees. The sun was setting and the sky was lined with pink and purple hues.  I laced up my shoes and got out of my car. I had no plans on where to go and no plans on how far I was going to run. All I knew was that I was going to run. I took off. Breathing in that early autumn air, my lungs felt refreshed, no longer strangled by the heat and humidity of the rough summer air. My legs felt light and the crunch of the gravel beneath my feet was music to my ears. As my legs and body began to warm up, my stride quickened and my breath became rhythmical. Without having to focus on body aches or breathing issues, I was able to quickly clear my mind. For the first time in a long time, my mind was blank. Numb. A good numb. I could feel the stress and my worries from work, school, and life start to fade away. Step by step, I felt better. I felt faster. After a mile, I made it to the trail. The trail was cool and the leaves were starting to change color and fall to the ground. I always love the sound of the leaves crunching when I run over them. The trail was full of people – runners, walkers, dogs, bikers. It made me happy to see so many people out on such a beautiful evening. After what felt like only several minutes, I was at the end of the trail. I look down at my watch to see 4 miles, 26 minutes. ‘Damn’, I thought to myself. Maybe those track workouts are starting to pay off. I restarted my watch and ran back to my car.

Total Distance: 8.2 Miles
Total Time: 56 Minutes
Pace: 6:34/Mile

Fall is the best time of the year to run. The weather gets cooler, the scenery gets better, and the fall race season is in full force. The end of the summer had me burnt out and exhausted. Todays run, however, gave me that boost I needed. The 2013 season will be over in 2 weeks, with the Half Full Half Iron triathlon October 6th and the Baltimore Half Marathon October 12th. I can’t wait to get back to the running grind and just enjoy running through the fall and winter season.

On a side note, I found this article about distance running. It’s a great read.

Leave a Reply

